Steve Strauss: A Very Thin Wire

Artikkelnr.: SFR 357.4097.2

Stockfisch Records - Audiofil innspilling - CD/SACD (Hybrid SACD). Kan avspilles på vanlige CD spillere

NOK299,00 inkl. mva.
På lager: 2 stk.
  • Produktinfo
  • Plateinformasjon
  • Sanger

Stockfisch Records

22 years ago Stockfisch Records released “Powderhouse Road”, the debut album of the New York-Singer/Songwriter Steve Strauss. It was groundbreaking with regard to its recording quality and was very well received. “A Very Thin Wire”, the fourth and newest album of the now 55 year old American artist is being released on SACD by the Stockfisch label boss and producer Günter Pauler.

The sound is pristine with perfect instrument separation, a high dynamic range and a resolution which brings out the finest details with high precision. Strauss´ dark and multifaceted voice is at all times present at the center of the stage without pushing the instruments into the background. Steve Strauss and the Stockfisch team have created without doubt yet another audiophile gem.

Günter Pauler shows once again how it’s possible to emphasize the individual character of each song with cleverly devised sound design. Steve Strauss, whose singer/songwriter music reveals deep insights into his emotional life and psyche, is congenially accompanied by the string-virtuoso and multi instrumentalist Ian Melrose this time.

The album begins lively and vibrant with the song “Somebody Tell Me”, which is followed by the melancholic and pensive “Blue”: this is a touching song based on Strauss’ many years of experience working as a psychotherapist with children and young people. With “In The Flood” he sympathetically tells us of the dreadful floods that took place in his hometown of Binghampton.
In addition to the 11 songs of his own, Strauss also presents two covers, one of which particularly stands out. In 2005 for his second album he had recorded a moving version of Springsteen’s “Youngstown”; and this time around it is “The Heart of Saturday Night” from the great Tom Waits, which Strauss skilfully makes his own.

The result is a collection of 13 musical gems. This is a highly varied album representative of the best songwriter tradition, inviting you to lean back, relax and enjoy. It envelopes you with a glass-clear sound which makes you weak at the knees and lets you melt away.
Artist Steve Strauss 
Tittel A Very Thin Wire 
Sjanger Singer Songwriter 
Mastret av  
Format CD / SACD  (Hybrid SACD )
Antall plater
Lydkvalitet Audiofil
Plateselskap Stockfisch Records 
Platenummer SFR 357.4097.2 
Spilletid 50:34 
Nr          TITTEL      
01 Somebody Tell Me
02 Blue
03 A Very Thin Wire
04 Every Broken Glass
05 Here Comes Old Splitfoot
06 Please Be With Me
07 Like It Used To Be
08 Bathsheba 
09 Heart Of Saturday Night 
10  In The Flood 
11 Home 
12 Sysiphus Jones 
13 The Company You Keep