Ernest Ansermet: The Royal Ballet Gala Performances

Artikkelnr.: AAPC 6065

Analogue Productions (RCA/DECCA Living Stereo) - Audiophile Recording - Dobbel (2) 200g Lp + Book. QRP


NOK1 775,00 inkl. mva.
  • Produktinfo
  • Plateinformasjon
  • Sanger

Analogue Productions

Double LP plus gatefold jacket with an integrated multi-page book inside

Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analog tape

200-gram double LP plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings

"Analogue Productions´ Classic Records buyout brought with it metal parts for many albums, cut by Bernie Grundman, including for this record. ... AP chose to produce a new stamper using the "mother" cut from the original master tape by Bernie Grundman. ... I compared this 33 1/3 reissue to the Classic 33 1/3 reissue and to an original pressing that I´m lucky to own. ... The QRP pressing was definitely more open, extended and focused on top and transients were sharper though in a completely natural way. The Classic sounded somewhat softer and veiled. If you´ve got both, you´ll hear it in the percussive transients first and then consistently throughout. ... 

In the hearts of thousands, No. 1 on the Top RCA list. While the bulk of Ansermet´s recordings were made with L´Orchestre de la Susise Romande, there were a few with the Paris Conservatoire Orchestra and the very occasional foray into recordings with London orchestras, one of these being with the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, in 1959.

Analogue Productions  is proud and excited to be bringing back such a classic. Not just for the music, which is superb, but also for the detailed packaging, which in this case takes the form of a 22-page lavishly illustrated book that´s integrated into the tip-on gatefold jacket. If you´re new to ballet, this pictorial history will introduce you to some of its most famous productions — old favorites such as The Nutcracker, Swan Lake and The Sleeping Beauty, for example — but also less familiar tales such as Carnaval, Les Sylphides and Coppélia. You´ll also make the aquaintance of famous ballerinas of the Royal company, such as Margot Fonteyn, Nadia Nerina and Beryl Grey. as well as choreographers such as Jules Perrot and male dancers Alexis Rassine and Michael Somes.

Musically you can´t get better than the 200-gram dead-silent platters pressed by Quality Record Pressings, makers of the world´s finest-sounding LPs. Of course the best vinyl reflects the best mastering, and that´s accomplished here by Bernie Grundman working from the original analog tape. Stoughton Printing expertly handled the intricate gatefold tip-on package.

"Conductor Ansermet keeps the pace moving, giving the listener the impression of a dance event rather than a dramatic concert hall reading. With the exception of some of the Tchaikovsky scenes, the music is light and remains so under Ansermet´s gentle touch. Each ballet is given full attention by the players, something not always attained at Covent Garden during long ballet nights! The threat of eternity does have it´s merits. The recorded sound is simply amazing! Lustrous is one word that comes to mind, accurate is another.

"Tonally, Messrs. Williamson and Wilkinson have used their considerable talents to capture the orchestra superbly. Woodwind and strings glow and resonate, transporting this listener to a time when simpler recording was better. Brass ring out thrillingly and percussion effects are very musical. Be it a bang, swish, rattle, crack or snap, each percussionist is situated perfectly within the beautiful Kingsway soundstage. Even the difficult-to-record sound of the celeste is captured in it´s purely mechanical form. It´s delicate sound is heard to great effect during the Nutcracker - originating stage left, the sound decays across the stage of Kingsway with sparkling beauty. Wonderful."

Producer: Michael Williamson
Engineer Kenneth Wilkinson


Artist Ernest Ansermet 
Tittel The Royal Ballet Gala Performances 
Sjanger Klassisk
Mastret av Bernie Grundman 
Format Vinyl - 200g 
Antall plater
Lydkvalitet Audiofil
Plateselskap Analogue Productions 
Platenummer AAPC 6065 


Nr LP  1  
01       Nutcracker Suite  March
02 Nutcracker Suite  Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairy
03 Nutcracker Suite  Arabian Dance
04 Nutcracker Suite  Chinese Dance
05 Nutcracker Suite  Dance Of The Toy Flutes
06 Nutcracker Suite  Waltz Of The Flowers
07 La Boutique Fantasque Tarantella
08 La Boutique Fantasque Andante Mosso
09 La Boutique Fantasque Can-Can
10 Coppelia Introduction (Allegro Marcato) And Mazurka - Act 1
11 Coppelia Introduction (Andante) And Waltz - Act 1
12 Coppelia Czardas  - Act 1
13 Coppelia Valse De La Poupee - Act 2
14 Giselle Introduction And Waltz - Act 1
15 Giselle Pas De Deux And Variation - Act 2
Nr LP 2  
01 Swan Lake  Dance Of The Little Swans (Pas De Quatre) - Act 2
02 Swan Lake  Pas De Deux - Act 2
03 Swan Lake  Waltz - Act 2
04 Carneval  Pierror
05 Carneval  Reconnaissance 
06 Carneval  Aveu
07 Carneval Pantalon Et Columbine
08 Sleeping Beauty Introduction - The Lilac Fairy - Prologue
09 Sleeping Beauty Rose Adagio - Pase D'Action - Act 1 
10 Sleeping Beauty Waltz - Act 1 
11 Les Sylphides Overture: Prelude In A Major, Opus 28, No. 7 
12 Les Sylphides Mazurka In C Major, Opus 67, No. 3
13 Les Sylphides Grande Valse Brillante In E Flat Major, Opus 18