Lyn Stanley: Potions From The 50`s

Artikkelnr.: ATM-3103-2

A.T. Music LLC - Audiofil CD/SACD (Hybrid SACD). Kan avspilles på vanlige CD spillere

NOK599,00 inkl. mva.
På lager: 12 stk.
  • Produktinfo
  • Plateinformasjon
  • Sanger

A.T. music LLC

“Potions [from the 50s]" is a tribute to selected composers in the1950s who wrote jazz and pop tunes and has pre-sold 1000 albums. Produced by Kenny Werner and recorded by Al Schmitt at Capitol Recording Studios in Hollywood and Avatar Studios in NYC, the album offers some of the finest jazz musicians on both East and West coasts supporting Lyn Stanley’s captivating voice that is unique, haunting and mesmerizing. The album has been released as a double 180-gram, 45 RPM vinyl record pressed at RTI and a Super CD (Stereo-hybrid SACD suitable for CD and SACD players). 


Jack Roberts,, November 2014

In my review of Lyn Stanley’s first album, Lost in Romance, I said “The 1940s style picture of a forlorn lady sitting on a piano, the title “Lost In Romance”, and the beautiful full toned music of this album never in a million years says, new artist. I had never heard of her but her website says she was discovered in 2010 by world class jazz pianist Paul Smith. Well since then I have had the privilege to meet this delightful lady and to hear her sing live. Having heard some of the songs on her new LP at audio shows played from the original lacquers it was with some excitement that I awaited to hear the LPs on my own system.

Let me say in no way was I disappointed. I truly loved her selection of songs. As the title suggests the songs chosen were composed in the 1950s. The selection of songs are drawn from a broad palette of jazz, popular hits, blues, country, R&B and doo-wop, and one very special Gershwin classic in a bonus track. The album was produced by world renowned jazz pianist/composer Kenny Werner. Returning to the elements that made her first album so successful she again hires Al Schmitt, this time as both the recording and mixing engineer along with Bernie Grundman for mastering the album.

The album contains fifteen tracks, twelve of the tracks are recorded in pure analog fashion from musicians through vocals, mixing and mastering. The sound is simply stunning. Let me say that one more time in case you didn’t hear me the first time; this is one good sounding LP! I love “Lullaby of Birdland.” You can hear every nuance of her vocals and the instruments. Superb phrasing. I enjoyed every song on these two LPs. Thank you Lyn for such great music that is also recorded so beautifully. 

George W. Harris,, January 2015 

Husky toned vocalist Lyn Stanley teams up with some of the best to deliver up some of the best from the 1950s, when Ike was in the White House, and Marlin Brandon was the stud of the screen. Pianists Bill Cunliffe and Kenny Werner , drummers John Robinson and Joe La Barbera, bassist Mike Valero and guests like Tom Ranier/cl, Thom Rotella/g and Rickey Woodard/ts form an Show Time team that runs and guns on clever material such as a rhumba’d “Lullaby of Birdland” and a smoky “Love Potion #9.” She oozes like molasses poured over buttered waffles on “Teach Me Tonight” and snaps like a snow pea on Valerio’s bass during a hip “I’m Walkin’.” Her tone is flawless, and she sounds like she’s having a good time, even when she’s like a kitten in a tree on “Misty.” Nothing brand new, but very satisfying for the soul.

Artist Lyn Stanley 
Tittel Potions From The 50`s 
Sjanger Jazz 
Format CD / SACD  (Hybrid SACD )
Antall plater
Lydkvalitet Audiofil
Plateselskap A.T. Music 
Utgivelsesdato 2014 
Platenummer ATM-3103-SACD 
Spilletid 55:36 
Nr          TITTEL       TID
01           Lullaby Of Birdland     2:56
02 Cry Me A River     4:02
03 Fly Me To The Moon     3:41
04 Hey There               3:30
05 I`m Walkin`     2:36
06 You Don`t Know Me     4:36
07  In The Still Of The Night                 4:28
08 The Thrill Is Gone      4:41
09 A Summer Place      3:33
10 Love Potion #9      3:28
11  Teach Me Tonight                 3:53
12 After The Lights Go Down Low      3:22
13 Misty      5:24
14 The Party`s Over      2:48
15 Bonus track: The Man I Love     5:58